CALIFORNICONNECTION

THIS IS PART OF AN ACTUAL TWITTER EXCHANGE I HAD DURING AN OPEN FORUM WITH THE FABULOUS EVAN HANDLER LAST NIGHT!  I share it to illustrate two important points:

1.  Wine and social media are a potentially dangerous combination and

2.  Those of us NOT possessing social media savvy especially need to heed point #1

Evan Handler ‏@EvanHandler I often found myself aroused in Maggie Grace’s presence. Does this make me a bad man?

@EvanHandler I often found myself aroused watching you. Does this make me a bad woman? a bad wife? perhaps…

@leannetankel No. The best kind.
Thank you, Mr. Handler!  I always suspected that “I was the best kind!”  That being said, I must confess some of my mishaps during my first tentative forays into the social media minefield.  When I first realized the frightening fact that I had to actually market my book, as opposed to just writing the damn thing and letting the sales multiply exponentially while I slept, I figured the easiest thing to do would be to find an Internet site where the followers/participants would already have an expressed interest in the themes found in Broken Hallelujah:  notes from a marriage.  Ingenious, right?  After a brief Google search, I found what I thought would be the perfect audience or audiences on a site dedicated to groups formed about anything its creator wanted to discuss.  Groups such as, I HATE MY HUSBAND, I PLAN TO CHEAT ON MY HUSBAND, I HAVE COMMITTED ADULTERY, I HAVE COMMITTED ADULTERY SEVERAL TIMES, HAVING SEX WITH MY HUSBAND MAKES ME WANT TO PUKE, and so on…you get the idea…I had hit the motherlode…In order to post on these surprisingly (or not surprisingly?) well-followed message boards, the poster had to set up an account with–as HIGHLY ENCOURAGED–a fictitious user name. But I used my real name…I mean the readers needed to know who had written the very book, Broken Hallelujah, that would soon enhance, enrich, and–for the better–change their lives.  About thirty minutes and ten posts later, this is what I–and anyone else visiting the site–was treated to, running continuously, like a stock market ticker, across the top of the screen:  LEANNE TANKEL HATES HER HUSBAND…LEANNE TANKEL PLANS TO CHEAT ON HER HUSBAND, LEANNE TANKEL HAS COMMITTED ADULTERY, LEANNE TANKEL HAS COMMITTED ADULTERY SEVERAL TIMES…you get the idea…
I could continue, and tell you about the time I accidentally invited my entire email contact list to view a sample (racy) chapter from Broken Hallelujah and the kind note that followed from our local Rabbi hoping my writing would continue to inspire my religious strivings (I’m pretty sure he never read it:), but I will save that story for another time…
For now, I leave you with this lesson learned:  social media is not for the humorless (or the heavy drinker!)!  And, I LOVE YOU, EVAN HANDLER:)
2 thoughts on “CALIFORNICONNECTION

Leave a Reply

